contact ivso:  tel: 0845 680 1901  /  email: ask@ivso.co.uk  /  twitter  /  google+  /  facebook

Deprecated: Non-static method JSite::getMenu() should not be called statically, assuming $this from incompatible context in /data01/steivso7/public_html/templates/gk_bluap/lib/framework/helper.layout.php on line 117

Deprecated: Non-static method JApplication::getMenu() should not be called statically, assuming $this from incompatible context in /data01/steivso7/public_html/includes/application.php on line 536

How do I not leave a copy of email(s) on the server?

How do I not leave a copy of email(s) on the server?

The information below will help you setup your email program so that it DOES NOT leave a copy of your messages on the server. This tutorial assumes that you are configured to retrieve your email using the POP3 protocol and that it is currently configured to leave copies of the messages on the server, instead of deleting them from the server.

It is recommended that your main PC/Laptop should be set up NOT to leave a copy on the server.
If you receive email also to your Mobile device, that should be set to leave a copy on the server, no longer than 3 days, and in some cases 1 day. 


Outlook Express, Outlook 2000
1.    Go to the Tools menu and choose Accounts,
2.    double-click on your BigCommerce email account's name,
3.    go to the Advanced tab,
4.    uncheck the box at the bottom that says Leave a copy of messages on the server, or check the box that says "remove from server after ... days" and specify a short enough amount of days, for example 1, and also check the last box "remove from server when deleted".
5.    click OK,
6.    click Close

Outlook 2003
1.    Go to the Tools menu, choose E-mail accounts, select View or change existing email accounts and click Next,
2.    double-click on the name of your BigCommerce email account,
3.    click on the More settings button,
4.    go to the Advanced tab,
5.    uncheck the box at the bottom that says Leave copy of messages on the server, or check the box that says "remove from server after ... days" and specify a short enough amount of days, for example 1, and also check the last box "remove from server when deleted",
6.    click OK, Next and Finish

Mozilla Thunderbird
1.    Click on the Tools menu, choose Account Settings,
2.    go to the Server Settings category on the left side, under your BigCommerce email account,
3.    uncheck the box that says Leave messages on server, or check the box that says "for at most ... days " and specify a short enough amount of days, for example 1, and check the other box ("until I delete or move them from inbox")
4.    click OK to confirm

Eudora 6
1.    Click on the Tools menu and choose Options,
2.    Select the category called Incoming Mail from the left panel,
3.    Uncheck the box on the right side called Leave mail on server, or adjust the boxes underneath to only leave a short amount of days worth of mail on the server (for example, 1 day),
4.    Click OK to confirm

Entourage for Mac
1.    Click on the Tools menu and choose Accounts,
2.    Double-click on the name of your BigCommerce email account and go to the Options tab,
3.    Under Server Options, uncheck the box that says Leave a copy of each message on the server, and the other boxes as needed,
4.    Click OK to confirm

Apple Mail for Mac OS X
1.    Click on the Mail menu and choose Preferences,
2.    Click on the Accounts icon, and select your BigCommerce email account on the left side,
3.    Go to the tab called Advanced, and CHECK THE CHECKBOX CALLED Remove copy from server after retrieving a message:
-    if that checkbox is UNchecked, then all your messages will always stay on the server (and you will fill up your quota quickly)
-    if that checkbox is checked, then the messages will only stay on the server as long as specified in the drop-down box underneath (recommended: less than 1 day)
-    if that checkbox is checked and the drop-down box is set to Right Away, then your account will behave as a regular POP3 account (the messages will be downloaded to your computer and then removed from the server right away - highly recommended)
4.    Click OK to confirm

We Are Here